The inspiring women who have won the Nobel Prize

The Nobel Laureates who have been honored for changing the world

Stars Insider

04/10/22 | StarsInsider


Ever since the first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901, the award has been considered one of the highest honors an individual can receive. Awards are given out each year, in the categories of physics, chemistry, "physiology or medicine," literature, peace, and economics (one per category). The Nobel Foundation describes the medal as an award given to “those who ... have conferred the greatest benefit to Mankind.” Since 1901, there have been more than 900 recipients of this prestigious honor, but out of those 900-plus Nobel Laureates, only 58 have been women. Thankfully, this number is rising quicker and quicker as time goes on, and more and more of the incredible women who shape our world for the better are getting the recognition they deserve.

In this gallery, let’s look back on some of the wonderful women who have become Nobel Laureates.

Campo obrigatório

Don’t miss out...

on the latest TV shows, movies, music, and exclusive content from the entertainment industry!

I accept terms & conditions and privacy policy.
I want to receive Exclusive Offers from partners (advertising)

You can easily unsubscribe at any time
Thank you for subscribing