Countries with more than one capital city

Did you know some nations have multiple capital cities?

Stars Insider

19/04/23 | StarsInsider


The world has experienced plenty of wars, revolutions, and fallen empires, which changed borders and presented new capitals. In 1900, only around 40 nations had capital cities. By 2000, the number grew to more than 200, largely a result of new countries emerging after the collapse of the British and French empires, the Soviet Union, and Yugoslavia. Most nations chose one city as their official capital, but there are some with two or more, where they split administrative, legislative, and judicial headquarters, for instance.

Curious? Then click on and take a look at the countries with more than one capital city.
Campo obrigatório

Don’t miss out...

on the latest TV shows, movies, music, and exclusive content from the entertainment industry!

I accept terms & conditions and privacy policy.
I want to receive Exclusive Offers from partners (advertising)

You can easily unsubscribe at any time
Thank you for subscribing