Meet the "stan" family of Central Asia

These countries were once part of the former Soviet Union

Stars Insider

02/01/19 | StarsInsider

TRAVEL Central asia

Do you know the "stan" family of Central Asia? They are a collection of countries whose names end in the suffix "stan," the ancient Persian word meaning country, nation, or land. 

There are seven "stans" in the world, but Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, and Tajikistan stand out for what they have in common. These five nations were once part of the former Soviet Union.

All now independent, these "stans" make for a fascinating and rewarding exploration. So browse this gallery and meet this extended family of Central Asian countries.


Campo obrigatório

Don’t miss out...

on the latest TV shows, movies, music, and exclusive content from the entertainment industry!

I accept terms & conditions and privacy policy.
I want to receive Exclusive Offers from partners (advertising)

You can easily unsubscribe at any time
Thank you for subscribing