Every country where same-sex marriage is legal

Estonia becomes first central European country to legalize same-sex marriage

Stars Insider

21/06/23 | StarsInsider


Of the planet’s 195 countries, only 35 have legalized same-sex marriage. By contrast, same-sex sexual activity is illegal in over 70 countries across the globe.

The world has undoubtedly come a long way since the Netherlands became the first country to legalize same-sex marriage in 2000. Canada became the first North American country to do so (in 2005); South Africa the first, and still only, in Africa (2006); Norway was the first Scandinavian country (2009); Argentina the first in Latin America (2010); New Zealand the first Asia-Pacific country (2013); and in May 2019, Taiwan became the first Asian country to legalize same-sex marriage. Add to this more than 20 other examples, all with their own intricacies, from court rulings to parliamentary votes.

Now, the first Baltic and central European country has joined the list, as Estonia's parliament voted to legalize same-sex marriage, by 55 votes to 34. Speaking to Reuters after the vote on June 20, prime minister Kaja Kallas said her message to central Europe was that “it’s a difficult fight, but marriage and love is something that you have to promote." The law will come into effect in 2024.

To find out more, click through the following gallery and discover all the countries where same-sex marriage is legal.

Campo obrigatório

Don’t miss out...

on the latest TV shows, movies, music, and exclusive content from the entertainment industry!

I accept terms & conditions and privacy policy.
I want to receive Exclusive Offers from partners (advertising)

You can easily unsubscribe at any time
Thank you for subscribing